top of page
  • wravenant

How to fly with an Airvest?




As airbag vests become increasingly mandatory for offroad motorcycle events, including all FIM sanctioned races, acquiring one has become an essential step for aspiring Dakar competitors. These vests serve as personal protective equipment (PPE), strategically designed to inflate upon impact, safeguarding your chest, back, and spine during a crash. Offroad motorcyclists are embracing airbag vests due to the remarkable level of protection they offer against severe injuries.


After conducting extensive research, I concluded that the Alpinestars Airvest was the superior choice at the time, and with the assistance of my rally veteran friend, David Pearson, I secured one from Alpinestars. While these vests come at a premium, their lifesaving potential justifies the investment. The total cost, including 10 cartridges (2 in the vest and 8 spares), amounted to $1320, excluding shipping fees, which can be substantial. David managed the shipping arrangements, and we split the expenses.


With the airvest in my possession, my primary concern turned to air travel logistics. Numerous tales circulated regarding the fate of airvests during transit. I consulted friends, many of whom are professional racers, and out of the 10 individuals I approached, each had a unique experience or perspective.


Ultimately, I sought clarification from Alpinestars, who confirmed that the airvest is indeed safe to transport as checked baggage, provided the following guidelines are adhered to:

  1. Check the vest as baggage.

  2. Ensure the vest is switched off to prevent accidental deployment during transit.

  3. The vest MUST be accompanied by the Safety Data Sheet.


Even with the guidelines, there is no guarantee that it will arrive safely at my destination, so I guess we will have to wait and see.


You can download the Safety Data Sheet here.


If you've found this content useful or entertaining and want to lend a hand to my Dakar endeavors or become part of my journey, your support would mean the world to me. You can make a difference by contributing to my GoFundMe page. Alternatively, if you're curious to dive deeper into my journey of Decoding Dakar, feel free to check it out here. Every bit of support and curiosity counts!












219 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page